Dreamfall Book Review

Title: Dreamfall
Author: Amy Plum
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: 05/30/2017
Genre: Science Fiction

Image result for dreamfall amy plum

Goodreads|Amazon

I’d just like to take a moment and thank Harper Collins International for the review copies that I was sent even if I was away from home and reviewing for my CPA (certified public accountant) exams and being on a blog hiatus as much as I hate that I miss reading and reviewing these books so much so I’m sending over my warm caramel hugs and soft vanilla sundae smiles because I got to pass that exam and I’m already a CPA in my own right and I owe the publishers a toast for that. Thank you. I love you to bits and pieces.

The Gist:

Seven teenagers who suffer from debilitating insomnia agree to take part in an experimental new procedure to cure it because they think it can’t get any worse. But they couldn’t be more wrong.

When the lab equipment malfunctions, the patients are plunged into a terrifying dreamworld where their worst nightmares have come to life—and they have no memory of how they got there. Hunted by monsters from their darkest imaginations and tormented by secrets they’d rather keep buried, these seven strangers will be forced to band together to face their biggest fears. And if they can’t find a way to defeat their dreams, they will never wake up.

Dreamfall is perfect for fans of dark and edgy young adult novels from authors like Danielle Vega, Natasha Preston, Kendare Blake, and Madeleine Roux. It is the first book in a spine-tingling duology full of action, suspense, and horror that’s sure to keep readers on the edge of their seat until the very last page.

The Review:

I can’t say anything much as for this one. I picked it up because it’s a duology and I’m a sucker for one. It was an okay read. It didn’t scare me as what I thought. I read it though with the light on as what it said. I hate horror stories and horror movies. It’s just nonsense to me. These books are just not my type although I’ve read books kind of like this one in the past. This book is basically about nightmares, I do have my fair share of bad dreams but nothing is really reoccurring and I will probably forget them in the morning anyway.

The only thing I probably appreciate in reading this one is that it kind of made you understand how lucky you are through discussing some teenagers go through like; aneurism, post traumatic disorder, narcolepsy, etc. The main thing here though is insomnia; it lets you know that sleeping and being able to sleep is such a blessing and sometimes a curse. To me it’s more of a blessing because I know that my body needs sleep as much as it needs food as sustenance. So from now on I’m not taking sleep for granted.

The book is pretty predictable and somehow pretty uncoordinated. I sometimes can follow through with what is happening. As the kids here is alternating between nightmares and a safe haven every so minutes just for them to have a chance in getting a good night’s sleep. I’d say the plot twist didn’t surprise me just as much but it’s a good one. I’m also so impatient with this that I keep on reading faster so that I can get to where they’re all awake, too bad I was cliff-hanged. Guess I’ll have to wait for the second book.

The Verdict:

Until then, I’m giving it a 3 stars!

Leave a Reply

