The Beauty of Darkness Book Review

Title: The Beauty of Darkness

Author: Mary Pearson

Publisher: Macmillan

Publication Date: August 2, 2016

Genre: Fantasy

Rate: 5/5

Image result for the beauty of darkness

Synopsis:

Lia and Rafe have escaped Venda and the path before them is winding and dangerous – what will happen now?

Let me first thank Mary for this beautiful book as the cover it definitely insinuate; from the cover, to the words, to the scenes down to the kisses. (Some books definitely lack the kisses.) And thank you very much Stacey for suggesting the kisses. We owe you so much. I literally loved everything about this book, no one could even stop me reading for a second. I gladly gulped it down in one swallow like the sweetest wine.

I couldn’t be more in love with Rafe and everything about him. From the first book of the remnant chronicles to this last one I have been so rooting for him. There’s no one I could love more than Rafe right now for I have not read so great sacrifices than what he had made for Lia. Risking his life, his crown, even his kingdom. Could I get a Rafe for myself please just a single piece or bit of him.

Lia now is too headstrong. She can’t be swayed by anyone. Not by one kingdom, not by a kingdom, not even by the man she loves. She became a queen yes, but too much of one I’d say. She’s been too dedicated in saving kingdoms and she hardly regarded what others had sacrificed and gave up to keep her alive. But that is what a queen should be right? To disregard the wants of her heart because the kingdom and the people came first. Sometimes it gets me thinking that if it was me, I’d be selfish for once. Easy for me to say though because I am not a queen, no responsibility that big whatsoever. But I still love her for loving Rafe.

I loved what turned out of Kaden. And Pauleen. I hated the guy but I guess he ultimately redeemed himself in the end. Rafe and Kaden teaming up in this book in every simple ways is the best thing ever. Strangely I wanted their own story, Pauleen and Kaden after the war.

I’m very very hapy and sad at the same time because this series I’ve adored has come to an end although I’m assured Mary has a lot of stories on store for us yet to read.

By the way I suggest playing Dangerously by Charlie Puth on your earphones while reading the book. 😉

Leave a Reply

